Day 19 Butte, MT to Bozeman, MT 105 Miles

Riding into Bozeman we not only reached our 1,000 mile mark into the ride, but also climbed just over 4,400 feet in elevation. The ride was a very interesting but demoralizing ride when at mile 70 we were going to cycle 30 miles towards the town to get in and then cycle the same 30 miles out the next day to head towards West Yellowstone. But after having a wonderful crew chief lunch it was pretty much downhill (riding I mean) and I was excited to get to lodging. Once we got into lodging I soon had to leave to make it to the bike shop to get a new chain for the “rig”. We were a little late to lunch, but still made it in time for the sponsor meal (spaghetti), one of my personal favorite meals. We had our second team meeting of the ride, which was overall positive but needed to fix some small things like waking up and being on time, as well as following policies and procedures on and off our bikes. After the meeting, I sat outside with my friend Matt and talked about cycling across Europe, he shouldn’t have told me that because now I think I’m going to cycle across Europe! Can’t wait to tell Mom and Dad! Everyone went to bed relatively early because of the 125 mile ride into West Yellowstone the next day, which would soon become one of the hardest days on the bike, for both myself, and the team.

 

Leave a comment