Day 17 Philipsburg, MT    80 Miles 

Wake up was at 6 am and today I was riding with Skevy and Rascal Paschal. Which I was super stoked about because this was my first time riding with both of them, and Skevy always makes me laugh while Paschal is always a positive influence and is just great to be around. The ride wasn’t too bad, mostly flat with a small incline, and Rocky near the end –  which deflated the team a little bit (but not my tires) – but nothing we couldn’t handle. We pushed on, and finished at a reasonable time and arrived at the surprisingly small town. We were staying at a local high school which was small, and looked like it was built in the 1900’s. After showering up and putting everything away we had a quick walk down to the Rotary club where they had wonderful bbq and some nice cold drinks, which were needed after such a long hot day of riding. I’m always amazed by our sponsors, it seems that the second they know we are heading into town, they will do anything to make sure that we are taken care of. It amazes me that these sponsors are so willing to do everything to help strangers every year, and I know now that this ride would not be possible without them and so many others like them, who help us every day. After dinner we thanked the sponsors and made it back up to lodging, where I spent my night cleaning the “rig” (bike) and was able to walk into town and spend a little time with some boys at a local restaurant. Side note: the world’s best candy shop was in town, but we were not able to make it because it was closed, but I may venture back to make it there after what I’ve heard about it from past teams. Then, it was off to bed for the next day which would be a  beautiful ride to Butte MT.

Leave a comment